OMrun - The Framework

Overview

OMrun is a framework for the data review from any heterogeneous data sources using SQL. The in-memory-comparisons are carried-out rule-based and automatically and any differences are reported at field level. Tolerances and ranges of values can be simply recorded and approved. It is possible to execute also "soft/blurry" checks in addition to "hard/sharp".

The compare process takes place in RAM directly to drive the execution as fast as possible. Who wants to use OMrun efficiently must have knowledge of SQL especially, which will last to automate all tests in OMrun.

Test results, which violate the rules, are shown in red color and are statistically recorded. The integrated fault analysis in OMrun helps to reduce troubleshooting time drastically. The results can be evaluated in OMrun itself, as well as in the supplied OMdashboard.
Of course, all results can be exported in MS Excel and reused anywhere.

All functions are documented and visualized in detail on the OMrun Help platform.

Process Engine

OMrun has an integrated process engine: test steps are grouped into scenarios and carried out manually or via a scheduler.

OMrun can call other tools and programs as main / primary (prior known as "master") or can be called as secondary / replica (prior known as "slave") itself.

The following connections are available, among others:

  • UC4 (Automic)
  • Tosca Testsuite
  • Control-M
  • HP Application Lifecycle Management (ALM / QC)
  • Jenkins

All test cases managed by OMrun can be reused in several scenarios. In this way, highly complex processing and test steps can be automated - we call this approach "scenario of scenario".    

OMrun focuses on data as test objects because we at OMIS believe that data structures are more stable than functions. We are convinced that changes to software affect the data and can be detected there. In many cases, there is no need to manually create test data, which reduces maintenance costs.

Data Adaptors

OMrun: Screen Environment, Dropdown 'DataType'

"You name it - we connect it!" 

OMrun is able to access a large number of database systems and data types with preconfigured adapters. New or not yet available adapters can be integrated independently by each user, and the scope of the adapters is constantly being expanded.

You can find the current overview in the OMrun Help, section Data Adapter.

Rules

The defined rules and tolerances from the IT or business specification are shown and stored in OMrun. These are applied during comparison to the source data of system A, what calculates the expected (target) value for the data check in advance.

The comparison of the predicted values with the values of the target system to be tested hereafter is s simple 1:1-comparison only. This approach allows OMrun to verify even very large amounts of data extremely performant and the time effort for integration and regression testing can be minimized significantly with the help of test automation using OMrun.

Solution Approach

The chosen approach of the rule-based check has the advantage that OMrun also shows the "overhang". This approach answers the question, whether or not there is data in the target system that is missing in the source system (colloquially "data corpses"). This works because OMrun recognizes data as deviating if they are not described by a defined rule.

If there is data in the target system that is not expected, the following measures must be taken

  • enter or adjust a missing or incomplete rule
  • adapt the target system as it is not yet processing the data correctly
  • adjust the source system or document deviations if it does not process the data correctly

With this iterative procedure, a kind of re-engineering is carried out with marginal expenditure of time during testing. This is a common case in systems with incomplete documentation and offers additional added value.

Do you have 2:27 minutes of leisure? If so, just take a cup of your favorite drink and treat yourself to our explanatory film. In a humorous and entertaining way, you will get to know how OMrun works using the "system changeover" application. Have lots of fun with it!

OMrun - das Framework

Überblick

OMrun ist ein Framework zur In-Memory-Überprüfung von Daten aus beliebig heterogenen Datenquellen mittels SQL. Die Datenvergleiche werden regelbasiert und automatisiert ausgeführt und allfällige Differenzen auf Feld-Ebene ausgewiesen. Die Fähigkeit, Toleranzen und Wertbereiche (Ranges) anzugeben ermöglicht es neben harten auch weiche und unscharfe Überprüfungen vorzunehmen.

Der Vergleichsprozess erfolgt im Arbeitsspeicher, was die Ausführung extrem beschleunigt. Testergebnisse, welche gegen die definierten Regeln verstossen, sind rot eingefärbt und statistisch dargestellt.

OMrun vereinfacht die Fehleranalyse, indem die Ergebnisse sowohl in OMrun und in OMdashboard zur Verfügung stehen und zur weiteren Verwendung nach MS Excel exportiert werden können.

OMrun Help dokumentiert und visualisiert die Funktionen übersichtlich und leicht verständlich.
Wer OMrun effizient nutzen möchte, verfügt über SQL- und Datenbank-Kenntnisse.

Process Engine

OMrun verfügt über eine integrierte Prozess-Engine: Prüfschritte werden zu Szenarien zusammengefasst und manuell oder via Scheduler ausgeführt.

OMrun kann als Primary / Main (früher als "Master" bezeichnet) andere Werkzeuge und Programme aufrufen oder als Secondary /  Replica (früher als "Slave" bezeichnet) selber aufgerufen werden.

Folgende Anbindungen stehen unter anderem zur Verfügung: 

  • UC4 (Automic)
  • Tosca Testsuite
  • Control-M
  • HP Application Lifecycle Management (ALM / QC)
  • Jenkins

Sämtliche von OMrun verwaltete Testfälle sind in mehreren Szenarien wiederverwendbar. Auf diese Weise sind hoch komplexe Verarbeitungen und Prüfschritte automatisierbar - wir nennen diesen Ansatz "Scenario of Scenario".

OMrun fokussiert OMrun auf Daten als Prüfobjekte weil wir von der OMIS der Meinung sind, dass Datenstrukturen stabiler sind als Funktionen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass sich Änderungen an einer Software auf die Daten auswirken und dort feststellbar sind. Das manuelle Erstellen von Testdaten entfällt in vielen Fällen, was den Wartungsaufwand senkt.

Daten Adapter

"You name it - we connect it!" OMrun: Screen Environment, Dropdown 'DataType'
OMrun ist in der Lage, mit vorkonfigurierten Adaptern auf eine Vielzahl von Datenbanksystemen und Datentypen zuzugreifen. Neue oder noch nicht vorhandene Adapter können von jedem Anwender selbständig integriert werden, zudem wird der Umfang der Adapter ständig erweitert.

Die aktuelle Übersicht dazu finden Sie im OMrun Help, Abschnitt Data Adapter.

Regeln

Die definierten Regeln und Toleranzen werden in OMrun abgebildet und während des Vergleichs auf die Quelldaten von System A angewendet, Anwendungsbeispiel einer Regelworauf OMrun den Soll-Wert für den Datenabgleich vorausberechnet. Die Abstimmung der vorausberechneten Daten aus System A mit den zu überprüfenden Daten des Zielsystems B ist dank diesem Ansatz ein simpler 1:1-Vergleich. Dieser Lösungsansatz beschleunigt den Datenabgleich, weil OMrun damit in der Lage ist, grosse Datenmengen extrem schnell abzustimmen.

Lösungsansatz

Der gewählte Lösungsansatz der regelbasierten Prüfung bringt unter anderem den Vorteil, dass OMrun auch den "Überhang" aufzeigt. So wird sichtbar, ob im Zielsystem Daten vorhanden sind, die im Quellsystem fehlen (umgangssprachlich "Datenleichen"). Dies gelingt, weil OMrun Daten als abweichend erkennt, falls sie nicht durch eine definierte Regel beschrieben sind.

Sind Daten im Zielsystem vorhanden, welche nicht erwartet werden, sind folgende Massnahmen zu ergreifen 

  • eine fehlende oder unvollständige Regel erfassen oder anpassen 
  • das Zielsystem anpassen, da es die Daten noch nicht korrekt verarbeitet 
  • das Quellsystem anpassen oder Abweichungen dokumentieren, wenn es die Daten nicht korrekt verarbeitet 

Mit diesem iterativen Vorgehen wird mit marginalem Zeitaufwand während des Testens eine Art Re-Engineering vorgenommen. Bei Systemen mit unvollständiger Dokumentation ist dies ein häufiger Fall und bietet einen zusätzlichen Mehrwert.

Haben Sie 2:27min Musse? Falls ja, nehmen Sie sich einfach eine Tasse Ihres Lieblingsgetränks und gönnen sich unseren Erklärfilm. Auf humorvolle und kurzweilige Art und Weise lernen Sie so die Funktionsweise von OMrun am Anwendungsfall "System-Umstellung" kennen. Viel Spass dabei!